Teacher Standards

Several activities and resources contained on the Special Connections web site can be utilized to meet various teacher quality standards. Two sets of specific standards have been addressed on the site. These standards include the Council for Exceptional Children's Professional Standards and the Interstate New Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (INTASC) Standards. Components of the site which address specific standards within each of these sets of standards are found below. 

The Council for Exceptional Children


The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) is the largest international professional organization dedicated to improving educational outcomes for individuals with exceptionalities, students with disabilities, and/or the gifted. The CEC Special Education Content Standards are made up of ten narrative standards. The Content standards have been organized into ten domain areas. These domain areas parallel those of the ten Interstate New Teacher and Assessment Consortium (INTASC) principles. 

Interstate New Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (INTASC) 
The Interstate New Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (INTASC) is a consortium of state education agencies, higher education institutions, and national educational organizations dedicated to the reform of the education, licensing, and on-going professional development of teachers. The INTASC model core standards for licensing teachers represent those principles which should be present in all teaching regardless of the subject or grade level taught and serve as a framework for the systemic reform of teacher preparation and professional development. 

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).